Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Displaying default values when accepting input from user Post 302464901 by flopster on Thursday 21st of October 2010 09:09:32 AM
Old 10-21-2010
nope, chubler's solution works perfectly for me ..

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Accepting User Input

I'm just starting out with UNIX and have figured some stuff out. I just need some help with accepting user input on the command line. For instance, I created a number counter that counts down from any positive hard coded number. But, I want the commnad line line to read "Countdown 20" where 20... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: scott78
1 Replies

2. Linux

Why isn't the computer accepting input?

I'm using Red Hat Linux 3, and the computer has stopped taking input from mouse, keyboard, etc. What are possible causes? How can I fix? -Worried Linux User (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: lunchtime
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Accepting user input in Bourne shell and using sed

He guys. Basically I want to make a script that can add, delete and view stuff in a external file called config.txt. I can open it up in Joe but im not sure how to read in the user input or using commands automatically in joe to edit, save then quit. Problem area below: 1) echo "Add... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Pits
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Accepting user input in c shell

i need to accept the user input in my c shell script before executing next command. i have the following code which ask for user input, but does not store this value. set req echo " Enter your input(Y/N)?" read req if (req = Y) echo " print $req" else echo " print $req" ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: skumar11
3 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to display values from user input array?