Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare fields in 2 files using AWK Post 302464788 by rashmisb on Thursday 21st of October 2010 12:20:12 PM
Old 10-21-2010
I have a urgent requirement with AWK and I am new to AWK scripting , kindly help me with the below problem

I would be having file where I would get information about the input files and the fields to compare .

info_file to AWK
------------
input_1=file1
input_2=file2
key_field|display|compare
Y|seq|y
N|Num1|n
N|Num2|y

file1
-----
seq|num1|num2
-------------
000|Abc|bcd
001|asd|qwe
002|efg|hij

file2
-------

seq|num1|num2
-------------
000|abc|bcd
001|asd|qwe
002|efg|iop

From the info_file, I will get the file1 and file2 names,

1) if key_filed is marked to Y, then the file 2 value should be specified,
2) display vaules should be the header of the output file
3) under compare if its marked to Y, then I need to compare those files if its marked to N, then those fields should be ignored .
4) And if the values match then I need to mark it to Y , else it should be marked N.
5) If all the fileds match in a record, then that should not appear in the output file.

so based on the above requirement, my output would be something like below

output
--------

seq|num1|num2
-----------
000||y
002||N

And I am working on sun OS.

Thanks
rashmi

---------- Post updated at 09:50 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:12 PM ----------

Please anybody ...please help me ...it is kind of urgent...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Compare two files using awk or sed, add values in a column if their previous fields are same

Hi All, I have two files file1: abc,def,ghi,5,jkl,mno pqr,stu,ghi,10,vwx,xyz cba,ust,ihg,4,cdu,oqw file2: ravi,def,kishore ramu,ust,krishna joseph,stu,mike I need two output files as follows In my above example, each row in file1 has 6 fields and each row in file2 has 3... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: yerruhari
1 Replies