Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to copy a file to a directory? Post 302462967 by vbe on Friday 15th of October 2010 11:29:18 AM
Old 10-15-2010
I like you answer very much! You beat me here...
I tried hard not to give a straight solution not knowing if this (looks very much like) is homework but to help the person to search using some deduction... Your explanation on PWD is quite challenging for someone wanting effortless solution to be given...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy file to a directory by sequence

Hi I am new in unix and look for help in urgent. I have a list of data files that located in a directory, and need to copy to another directory for loading. The condition here is, the list of data files has to be copy over by sequence, and if there is no file in targetted directory already. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: fooky
4 Replies

2. Solaris

Copy files from the file to another directory

I have created a file that has list of all the files I want to copy into another directory.Is there a way to do it? Thanks In advance (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shreethik
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to copy a file to a directory ,where file and dir are sent as args to a function?

Hi all, I wanted to know how i can copy a file to a directory and then verify if that file is completely copied or not? Now the issues here is that the dir and the source file are to be sent as arguments to a function( this function should actually copy the files to a dir, then check if its... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: wrapster
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy the latest file from one directory to another