Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to put content of file into a variable? Post 302462154 by danmero on Wednesday 13th of October 2010 11:39:10 AM
Old 10-13-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14th
because I'm new to bash and I only know cat.
Be welcome, you should take Useless Use of Cat Award first.
This User Gave Thanks to danmero For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Put one ligne from a file a variable

Hi everybody I looking the put the result of a commane to a Variable i explain here is my command: FJTS_UK:root:common@ukaix3:/> cat sortie | grep "^"| awk '{ print $1}' 15 FJTS_UK:root:common@ukaix3:/> sortie is a texte file I want to put the result of commande in a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kykyboss
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Put content of file into variables

How to put a line of strings (with some white spaces in between) from a file into variables? I have tried the following codes. However, the content is cut by space (not by line) for i in `cat ${source_file}` do echo $i done Please comment. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rock
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

put the contents of this file into a variable with multiple lines

I have a file that contains the following lines the brown quick fox jumped over the white laze dog 0123456789 I wanted to put the contents of this file into a variable so I used this code: VAR_LIST=`cat $2` where $2 is the file name passed as an argument to the script If I... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nomaad
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirecting variable content to a file!

Hello! I'm having problems trying to extract the contents of a variable and placing it into a text file. Grateful for any help. Been trying something along the lines of: $variable > file.txt or `cat < $variable` > file.txt As you can see I'm a newbie to this :D (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lloowen
2 Replies