Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting distinct values of all the fields Post 302461955 by vukkusila on Tuesday 12th of October 2010 09:13:49 PM
Old 10-12-2010
distinct values of all the fields

I am a beginner to scripting, please help me in this regard.

How do I create a script that provides a count of distinct values of all the fields in the pipe delimited file ? I have 20 different files with multiple columns in each file. I needed to write a generic script where I give the number of columns as a parameter to the script or the script by itself should be able to recognize the number of columns in the file based on the delimiter. The script needs to generate the output as below.

Sample data

Field1|Field2|Field3|Field4
AAA|BBB|CCC|DDD
111|222|333|777
AAA|EEE|ZZZ|EEE
111|555|333|444
AAA|EEE|CCC|DDD
111|222|555|444

For the above file, the result I am looking for would be:

Field1
AAA(3)
111(3)

Field2
BBB(1)
222(2)
EEE(2)
555(1)

Field3
ccc(2)
333(2)
zzz(1)
555(1)

Field4
DDD(2)
777(1)
EEE(1)
444(2)

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop through only the distinct values in a file

Datafile has the following data seperated by : FIELD1:FIELD2:FIELD3 D1:/opt/9.1.9:Y D2:/opt/10.1.10:Y D3:/opt/9.1.9:Y D4:/opt/8.1.8:Y D5:/opt/8.1.8:Y D6:/opt/9.1.9:Y D7:/opt/9.1.9:Y D8:/opt/10.1.10:Y D9:/opt/9.1.9:Y D10:/opt/10.1.10:Y I want to do some operations only on the distinct... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pbekal
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk to print distinct col values

Hi Guys... I am newbie to awk and would like a solution to probably one of the simple practical questions. I have a test file that goes as: 1,2,3,4,5,6 7,2,3,8,7,6 9,3,5,6,7,3 8,3,1,1,1,1 4,4,2,2,2,2 I would like to know how AWK can get me the distinct values say for eg: on col2... (22 Replies)
Discussion started by: anduzzi
22 Replies