Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk script processing data from 2 files Post 302460570 by Alice236 on Thursday 7th of October 2010 04:53:17 AM
Old 10-07-2010
2 is the time spent "out".
I know that looking the file it should be 3, but for the periods when the position is "out", I have to consider as length of the period the final_time-initial_time (for example, in case only 1 consecutive line with "out" appeared, then the length of interval would be 0 and I would not subtract any time)
Then, 910-908=2

That's because my records on "out" periods are only instantaneous.. sorry for not explaining that in a clearer way in the previous post. :-)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

single output of awk script processing multiple files

Helllo UNIX Forum :) Since I am posting on this board, yes, I am new to UNIX! I read a copy of "UNIX made easy" from 1990, which felt like a making a "computer-science time jump" backwards ;) So, basically I have some sort of understanding what the basic concept is. Problem Description:... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kasimir
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with data processing, maybe awk

I have a file, first 5 columns are very normal, like "1107",106027,71400,"Y","BIOLOGY",, however, the 6th columns, the user can put comments, anything, just any characters, like new line, double quote, single quote, whatever from the keyboard, like"Please load my previous SOM597G course content in... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: freelong
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Processing files using awk

Hi I have files in our UNIX directory like the below -rw-r--r-- 1 devinfo devsupp 872 Sep 14 02:09 IMGBTREE27309_12272_11_1_0_FK.idx0 -rw-r--r-- 1 devinfo devsupp 872 Sep 14 02:09 IMGBTREE27309_12272_11_0_0_PK.idx0 -rw-r--r-- 1 devinfo devsupp 432 Sep 14... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rbmuruga
7 Replies