Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace lines from one file to another Post 302458461 by rdcwayx on Friday 1st of October 2010 12:08:21 AM
Old 10-01-2010
you need provide the sample on both file.dat.orig and file.dat, and tell us your expect output.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace multiple lines in file

Hello I am a beginner in shell script. I was trying to find a way to replace multiple lines of a file with different set of multiple line. sed -n '/begin/,/end/p' < sample1.txt >test.txt UNEDITED=`cat test.txt` vi test.txt EDITED=`cat test.txt`... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nox
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace lines in a file

I've got a file full of numbers, example: cat test.file 60835287 0 51758036 40242437 0 32737144 0 24179513 0 4131489957 I want to replace those numbers (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: TehOne
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace whole lines in the file from different files

Hi all, I have two parameter blocks in a configuration file, file1.conf. First parameter block starts with PWAT-PARM1 and ends with END PWAT-PARM1. Second parameter block starts with PWAT-PARM2 and ends with END PWAT-PARM2 (please see below in file1.conf). file1.conf is fixed width... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jae
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace lines in a file