Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace lines from one file to another Post 302458326 by jakSun8 on Thursday 30th of September 2010 11:38:27 AM
Old 09-30-2010
Replace lines from one file to another

Hello,
I have 8 lines containing these unique words in both files

file.dat.orig (has 1000 lines) and file.dat(has only 8 lines)

I want to replace those lines in file.dat.orig by the lines in file.dat

Updated
To clarify - both the files have difference in lines (except those unique words). Hence i want to replace.
Thanks in advance - Jak

Last edited by jakSun8; 09-30-2010 at 12:57 PM.. Reason: Clarification

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace multiple lines in file

Hello I am a beginner in shell script. I was trying to find a way to replace multiple lines of a file with different set of multiple line. sed -n '/begin/,/end/p' < sample1.txt >test.txt UNEDITED=`cat test.txt` vi test.txt EDITED=`cat test.txt`... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nox
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace lines in a file

I've got a file full of numbers, example: cat test.file 60835287 0 51758036 40242437 0 32737144 0 24179513 0 4131489957 I want to replace those numbers (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: TehOne
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace whole lines in the file from different files