Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell scripting -append a new string Post 302456912 by joseph.dmello on Sunday 26th of September 2010 11:12:42 PM
Old 09-27-2010
thank you mate . much appreciated. good luck

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String comparision in shell scripting

Hi Guys, I am new to scripting I have written a code to compare strings,but I am getting some Exception Code snippet: MODE="D" if ]; then . $file1 fi Error: ./BatchJobs.sh: [[: execute permission denied I have given all Execute permissions to the script(chmod 755... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Truncate and Append in unix shell scripting

Hi All, I have a long log file (abc.log) which contains large volume of data that need to be inserted into the database as clob. I am having problem in inserting the long log file into the clob field if the cahracters in the file exceeds. So iwould like to truncate the file upto 32767... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajeshorpu
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell scripting string manipulation

Hi, if I have a string delimited by commas how can I put each character on a new line followed by a carriage return, and output this to a filee.g from: s,t,r,i,n,g to s t r i n g thanks you (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Wahmed9
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with shell, trying to append or separate values in a string

Ok. I for the life of me cant figure out how to do this. I need Help. So here is what I'm trying to do. I have a block of text. They are FIPS codes for counties. Below is the block. There are probably a few ways to do this. The first line starting with ARC021....... this line is a list of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chagan02
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append a string on the next line after a pattern string is found