Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Held req: Awk - remove non-alpha line Post 302456837 by Scott on Sunday 26th of September 2010 08:58:02 AM
Old 09-26-2010
Your question isn't clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grueben
Thanks for that it works fine but I forgot to add that sometimes the file contains a blank record in field 2.

Could you help with the awk for removing ALL non-aplha characters?
Define a "blank record". Does that mean "no record"? "remove all non-alpha characters" from where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdcwayx
Code:
sed '/ [0-9]/d' infile

This wouldn't work if there is no second record, if the second record has any numbers or if there are more than two records.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

(Req)Shell script req

HI All Im new to shell scripting...kindly plz help me... I need a shell script for: We have to take export of all db's on daily basis from all svr's and keep these export backups on diffrent server. Plz help. Regards Gaurav (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ergauravtaneja
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script to remove duplicate rows in line

i have the long file more than one ns and www and mx in the line like . i need the first ns record and first www and first mx from line . the records are seperated with tthe ; i am try ing in awk scripting not getiing the solution. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kiranmosarla
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Req 1-liner for Awk, et al to find str position

Hi, I'm trying to find the position of a series of numbers within a large text file. The numbers are separated by spaces. This works fine: type Huge_File.txt | gawk "{print index($0,"255")}" But this does not: type Huge_File.txt | gawk "{print index($0,"188 028 239 160 016 190 137... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lemming42
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK: Remove spaces before processing each line?