Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell scripting -append a new string Post 302456244 by joseph.dmello on Thursday 23rd of September 2010 05:45:34 PM
Old 09-23-2010
Shell scripting -append a new string

hi all ,

i am looking for a shell script which looks into a directory of text files and searches for a string(abc123) in all the text files and if that exists add a new line(abc124) in all the *.txt files automatically, or if (abc124) exists add (abc123) can you all please help me.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String comparision in shell scripting

Hi Guys, I am new to scripting I have written a code to compare strings,but I am getting some Exception Code snippet: MODE="D" if ]; then . $file1 fi Error: ./BatchJobs.sh: [[: execute permission denied I have given all Execute permissions to the script(chmod 755... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Truncate and Append in unix shell scripting

Hi All, I have a long log file (abc.log) which contains large volume of data that need to be inserted into the database as clob. I am having problem in inserting the long log file into the clob field if the cahracters in the file exceeds. So iwould like to truncate the file upto 32767... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajeshorpu
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell scripting string manipulation

Hi, if I have a string delimited by commas how can I put each character on a new line followed by a carriage return, and output this to a filee.g from: s,t,r,i,n,g to s t r i n g thanks you (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Wahmed9
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with shell, trying to append or separate values in a string