Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX HP-UX Full System Backup with fbackup Post 302456204 by miskin on Thursday 23rd of September 2010 01:18:59 PM
Old 09-23-2010
HP-UX Full System Backup with fbackup

Hello,

I'm still new in HP-UX backup and I want to do a FULL BACKUP of HP-UX server to TAPE device. After reading on several forums and posts, i have list down several steps on how to do a full backup on HP-UX with fbackup. I would like the gurus here to comment/advise on the steps below

1) Insert tape

2) mount tape with command below. This command will mount the tape device and automatically rewind
Quote:
mt -t /dev/rmt/0mnb rew
3) To speed up the backup to tape process, use the configuration file below:
Quote:
Create file as /etc/fbackup.cfg:

blocksperrecord 4096
records 64
checkpointfreq 4096
readerprocesses 6
maxretries 5
retrylimit 5000000
maxvoluses 200
filesperfsm 2000
4) Then run fbackup with command:
Quote:
fbackup -vf /dev/rmt/0m -c /etc/fbackup.cfg -i /
5) Have a jug of coffee to drink until the backup process finish Smilie

So now, i have several questions in mind:

1) Is there any error if i do a backup on "/" while system is running ? Maybe permission error. If yes, how can i make a backup on "/" ?

2) If the whole data , let say 35GB, and the tape capacity only, let say 20GB, can i continue the backup to 2nd tape ? . Is there another command or just put another tape after the 1st tape ejected ? Any advice ?

Thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

Backup using fbackup

Dear All, We have Universe database on HP-UX Servers, when we take back on DDS3 it completes around 48 Gb data on just one tape. As per DDS media specs it can hold upto 24 GB compressed data. How it is managing more than double data..? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kashif Raees
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Full System Backup / Cloning HPUX