Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Code for running commands one after other Post 302455452 by sriki32 on Tuesday 21st of September 2010 03:43:37 PM
Old 09-21-2010
a) cd /root/user/dir/sd/disk
./runInstaller -silent -responseFile

b) cd /root1/user1
cp /root/user/dir/sd/disk/ram.txt
now b) executes before a) is successfully done.

so I want b) to start only after successfull completion of a)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

running start up commands

Hi all How can I setup my shell so that I run a set of commmands or a script every time I login. I am using kshell. I tried putting a line in ./.bash_profile (does not work) Ex.: I want to use vi as the commandline editor so, I want to run the command: set -o vi (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: skotapal
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

running commands from script

I'm new to unix and I have a fairly simple problem: Lets say I am in a specific directory and I run the command: "dirs" , I get an output of all the folders that i pushed into the stack (as expected), buut, when when I create a script (called test): #! /bin/csh dirs and then i run:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: owijust
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to disable running commands from vi

Hello, We have a requirement to disable running shell commands via vi using "!". Can anybody please suggest how to disable this option. The requirement arises because we open up a xterm window with a config file in vi mode for the customer to edit. After the customer edits the config... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Umesh_Sharoff
1 Replies

4. Programming

code that reads commands from the standard i/p and executes the commands