Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: user simple password SLES
Operating Systems Linux SuSE user simple password SLES Post 302451478 by john1212 on Tuesday 7th of September 2010 03:22:18 AM
Old 09-07-2010
Hi,
You found information in files /usr/share/doc/pam*
maybe ??minlen??
you must edit a file in /etc/pam.d
This User Gave Thanks to john1212 For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

user Id vs Password

Hello out there in unix.com land. I am Cerberus and this is my first post. I am brand new to Unix and i have a quesiton for you all. Relating to the Unix Password File Setup, what is: User ID? Password? any insite comparing one to the other as far as specifics would be greatly... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cerberus
2 Replies

2. AIX

changing user password

I have 02 servers: - Linux RHEL AS 3 (server1) - AIX 5.2 (server2) Running the command rsh server2 passwd derje from the server1 to change derje user password on server2, give me this error: 3004-709 Error while changing the password for "derje" Can somebody help me ? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mayge
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ftp and user/password

I know the typical way to script automate an ftp session is to pass all of the commands to ftp, with something 'like' the following: echo USER $user echo PASS $pass My question concerns other methods or tricks people have used so that the username and ESPECIALLY the password are... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: joeyg
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

password verification verify password of a user for only first 8 characters

Helo , I m using linux pam library for user and its password authentication. I m creating new user and giving its password.I m giving password of 10 characters.now when I login in as that newly created user its ask me $ su - ram Password: You are required to change your password immediately... (12 Replies)