Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: What do you do for a living?
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? What do you do for a living? Post 302450263 by Sun Fire on Thursday 2nd of September 2010 05:01:59 AM
Old 09-02-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparcguy
Unix administrator, sometimes they call us unix engineer so they can charge the customers more $$$$$$$ but otherwise yeah I manage unix boxes for a living and have done so since 92. I was with the services teams for a few years running projects but my calling is to be a sysadmin so I think that's probably what I'll do until they put me into the ground ... kekeke

At one time I used do only sun but these days it's not enough so one needs to be versatile so now I'm also supporting hpux and other os.
I kind of do what you started to do, SUN only right now.

I basically do:

1. Support for Solaris: We handle customer cases from trivial to escalated issues.

2. Installations for SUN servers/Storage/Tape Library/Blade centers/SANs/Solaris.

3. Support/Service for SUN Hardware (Servers SPARC/X86, Blades, Disk Arrays/SANS, Tape libraries, backup softwares sometimes netbackup and legato).

4. Regular preventive maintenance and checkups.

5. Sales support and management.

6. Training, sometimes we train customers for Solaris administration.

7. Sometimes Linux calls.

I'd like to get exposure other UNIX flavors...maybe I need to change jobs to do that Smilie

2 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

Starting over, making a living with linux?

I really like to use linux, although I freely admit I don't know squat about it. I can install it, update it and get it to most of what I would like it to do, up to running some windows apps on it. I am going back so to school starting on the 25th, with a declared major of Information... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Methal
1 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

Video: What Do You Do for a Living? @UNIX.com