Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need Awk command to get part of string based on delimeter Post 302449176 by kurumi on Saturday 28th of August 2010 11:36:59 PM
Old 08-29-2010
Code:
string="Input : "07:08:43 28.08.2010|SCHEDULE: Started program POSG1[(0600 08/28/10)] has completed successfully""
f="${string%%|*}"
r=${string%)\]*}
r=${r##*\[(* }
final="$f $r"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sort entire line based on part of the string

hey gurus, my-build1-abc my-build10-abc my-build2-abc my-build22-abc my-build3-abc basically i want to numerically sort the entire lines based on the build number. I dont zero pad the numbers because thats "how it is" ;-) sort -n won't work because it starts from the beginning. ... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: gurpal2000
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get part of string in awk from match

Hi, Im an awk noob and I am having trouble trying to get matches. Here is my script: #!/bin/gawk -f BEGIN {} $0 ~ /<a href=".*">.*<\/a>/{print} Ideally I want to be able to get the actual link and print it. In PHP you can do preg_replace and get the match you want by using \\1 where 1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: adsyuk
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to merge 2 files based on delimeter in perl?

Hi, I have 2 files. a.txt & b.txt # a.txt contains the following text. apple grapes # b.txt contains the following text. banana pine My question is. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vanitham
1 Replies

4. Web Development

split line based on delimeter SQL

I have a SQL query SELECT BLAH_ID, BLAH_CODE, DATEFORMAT(CALENDAR_DATE, 'MM-DD-YYYY') AS CALENDAR_DATE_STR, HOURS, 'N', FROM blah_tmp_tbl order by CALENDAR_DATE_STR,BLAH_ID,BLAH_CODE; OUTPUT TO 'MyExport.CSV' quote '' FORMAT ASCII; That gets me the below output; ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ffdstanley
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting