Sponsored Content
Operating Systems OS X (Apple) A program crashed my iMac so bad that it could not start up. Post 302448712 by Corona688 on Thursday 26th of August 2010 06:21:03 PM
Old 08-26-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASL123
The harddrive was not damaged.
And they tested this how?
Quote:
In fact it is quite new (< year).
That doesn't mean anything. I and others have had drives that were faulty straight out of the package.
Quote:
My purpose for posting this thread, was solely to see if someone could verify that it is not possible for a program (when crashing) to damage the UNIX installation.

I am not an UNIX expert myself, but I know that UNIX is regarded as a secure operating system.
OSX's boot files are quite well protected, a user-mode program wouldn't have the ability to trash any of them without jumping through several hoops and requiring administrator passwords. I think the game crashing was a symptom, rather than the cause. A crash inside a driver could do this, though.
This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I start a program when I start my Computer?

I'm running MAC OS X and I'm wondering how I start 'nixey programs (not normal apps) on startup? Things like the dnet client and hxd Hotline Server. Anyone know? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: l008com
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

start a program with other user's permission

I have some of programs in unix system which are to started with one_user say "xxxx". I have sudo permission if i start these programs with sudo it shows root permission. But i want these programs permession should be "xxxx". I tried "su user_name -c Program_name" but it is not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: srikanthus2002
3 Replies

3. Programming

How to start a process in linux using C program??