Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Multiple Variables in Array from Existing Directories Post 302448470 by ygemici on Thursday 26th of August 2010 05:57:44 AM
Old 08-26-2010
Code:
x=0;for i in adrian bryan caren derrick; do document[x]=`echo "$i"`; echo "${document[x]} --> document[$x]";let x=x+1; done
adrian --> document[0]
bryan --> document[1]
caren --> document[2]
derrick --> document[3]

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Solaris

adding existing disks to a 3510 array

I would like to extend a logical drive on our 3510. I have four unallocated disks which I would like to use for this purpose. The 3510 supports a Sun Cluster but for now all I wish to see is a "new" disk when I run format. I am a little familiar with the telnet/ssh session on the 3510 but am... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: malcqv
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

append newline to existing variables

firstly, i check is the variable empty or not, if so vesselNameList=`echo $vesselName` if not vesselNameList="${vesselNameList}""\n"`echo "$vesselName"` and it produces this result BUNGA TERATAI 3 5055\ JADE TRADER 143W\ MOL SPLENDOR 0307A BUNGA TERATAI 3 5055\ JADE... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: finalight
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

check if multiple directories exist else create missing directories

Hi , I 'm trying to check if multiple directories exist on a server, if not create the missing ones and print " creating missing directory. how to write this in a simple script, I have made my code complex if ; then taskStatus="Schema extract directory exists, checking if SQL,Count and... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ramky79
7 Replies