Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting replacing field in specific line in a file Post 302447936 by vytenis on Tuesday 24th of August 2010 06:01:38 PM
Old 08-24-2010
Question replacing field in specific line in a file

Hi,

I know there are lots of threads on replacing text within files, usually using sed or awk. However, I find it hard to adapt examples that I found to my specific case. I am kind of new to UNIX and have hard times learning the syntax either for sed or awk so I would appreciate any help. Here's what I want to do:

I have a file containing user information

PIN000:FirstName.LastName:AccountNumber:Balance

I use cut to retreive Balance and place it into a variable and do calculations with it, but I don't know how to replace the Balance in the file above with new Balance that I get.

For example,
withdrawsum=number
Balance=&(($Balance - $withdrawsum))

then I want to replace the Balance part of the file so that when I exit the script, the changes remain and the next time I try to read Balance from the user file, I get the changed one.

For example,

user file:

PIN123:John.Smith:10203040:1000

so the Balance=1000

lets say that

withdrawsum=10

So once I've done the subtraction from the balance,

Balance=$(($Balance - $withdrawsum))

I want the new balance to be overwritten in the old balance place, so the file would look like this:

PIN123:John.Smith:10203040:980

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for your help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replacing the last field of a line.

Hi, I wrote a script which extracts data from 2 tables (joining the tables together) and outputs the fields to a csv file. the output may look something like scenario 1: a,b,c,d,1,2,3,4 or scenario 2: a,b,c,d,,,, now, in the second scenario, there are some empty fields at the end of... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Darek
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers