Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace a null from grep to a number 0 using sed Post 302447673 by dgmm on Tuesday 24th of August 2010 03:13:01 AM
Old 08-24-2010
Replace a null from grep to a number 0 using sed

Hi
I have a file which contains count for a code. Code is first field and count is second field.
I am trying to search the code and get correspond count.

File look like this. temp.out
Code:
A 10
B  20

I am searching for C , if C is not there I will have get value 0.

I have written like this to get the count.

Code:
c=`grep "C " temp.out | awk '{print $2}'`

But this c is getting a null. How do I change it so that I will get zero instead of null.

Thanks and Regards
dgmm

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Use code tags please.

Last edited by zaxxon; 08-24-2010 at 04:21 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed command to find, manipulate and replace a number

Hi, Im very new to the world of sed so I'm really not even sure if this is possible. What i need to do is read from a flat file and every time i see this line: VAL=123,456 I need to change 456 to 457 for every occurence of this line in the file. The numbers 123 and 456 are different for... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: LT_2008
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed/grep string replace question

Hi all, I know this question has probably been answered before, but I am struggling with this problem, even after googling a million pages. In a file named rdmt.conf I need a single character replaced, the number in the line below CUR_OC4J_ID=1 It will always appear after... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike AAA
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sed to replace second number in a random string