Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [Solved] Problem in reading a file line by line till it reaches a white line Post 302446707 by kevintse on Thursday 19th of August 2010 11:10:52 AM
Old 08-19-2010
Reading a file line by line till it reaches a white line:
Code:
awk '/^.+$/{ print; next} {exit}' inputfile

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with reading file line-by-line, and outputting to a new file

Hi everyone. I realise this is probably a bit of a noob question, but I'm actually a C# developer working on a legacy system, and can't remember much unix. I want to read from a pipe-delimeted file like formatted thusly: idno|PRODUCT|Name|street town postcode|etc|etc|etc|etc... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Darkness Fish
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading a file line by line and processing for each line

Hi, I am a beginner in shell scripting. I have written the following script, which is supposed to process the while loop for each line in the sid_home.txt file. But I'm getting the 'end of file' unexpected for the last line. The file sid_home.txt gets generated as expected, but the script... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sagarparadkar
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Solved] Read a line from one string till to another.... Unix scripting..

So i have a file which contains paths to JPG images separated by a space. I have to separate them each path to another file. So, I have to search all strings that start from /home/ and ends with .jpg or .png Then write each one to another file... Can you please help me on doing this???:cool: (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: hakermania
11 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to start reading from the nth line till the last line of a file.