Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Count todays created files and old files Post 302446027 by kevintse on Tuesday 17th of August 2010 11:51:13 AM
Old 08-17-2010
Ensure
Code:
ssh user@server "ls --full-time /modify/this/to/your/directory/"

returns something.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script help to eliminate files of todays date

Hi I am very new to shell scripting and have written a script (below). However the directory I am searching will contain a file with a .trn extension each day which I want to eliminate. Each day the file extension overnight will change to trx, if this fails I want to know. Basically what I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: richM
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find files having todays date and hostname in its name.

Hello, I am quite new to unix/shell and want to write a script using bash which will process the files. Basically i want to search files having name as "date+hostname+somestring.out" i am using below variables and then will use them in find command :- TODAY_DATE=$('date +%d')... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: apm
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

need to zip all the files excluding todays file

HI All, At present in my server the log folder was filled up and causing memory issue. So I am planning to write a script in such a way that the files which are older than 30 days will be deleted and also need to find the files which were not compressed and need to compress this file.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: arumilli
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count for only todays files.

Hi, I unable to find the direct command get the total count for the below files with today date. ls -lrt c90.txt n5.txt t1.txt k3.txt h9.txt s1.txt n2.txt a123.txt -rw-rw-r-- kkk klkl 980 Apr 26 19:00 c90.txt -rw-rw-r-- kkk klkl 80 Apr 26 19:00 n5.txt -rw-rw-r-- kkk klkl 12890 Apr 26... (3 Replies)