Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Date Conversion on output string from awk Post 302445770 by agama on Monday 16th of August 2010 11:11:05 PM
Old 08-17-2010
If you don't have to worry about portability, and the date command installed on your system supports the -d option, this will work:

Code:
date -d "May 24 2010"  "+%Y/%m/%d"

You can incorporate that with your awk programme to convert your string. I'm not a POSIX expert, but I am fairly certain that this is notstandard at all, so go with caution if you decide on this route.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String Conversion in awk

I am porting a awk script from Windows to unix I_SALE_MEDIA=$67 if ((I_VOID_FLAG == "Y") && (I_SALE_MEDIA == 0)) NOW consider the case where I_SALE_MEDIA i.e $67 is "000" The above comparison works fine in Windows , but to make it work in Unix , I had to change the above as follows : ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rohanrege
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script for date conversion

hi awk script for dd/mm/yyyy to yyyymmdd awk script for dd-mon-yyyy to yyyymmdd awk script for dd-mm-yyyy to yyyymmdd formate ..............urgent............. Thanks in advanced (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: charandevu
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Conversion of Exponential to numeric in awk- not correct output

Hi All, I have 1 million records file. Using awk, I am counting the number of records. But as the number is huge, after crossing a number, awk is displaying it in exponential format. At the end, I need to verify this count given by awk with expected count. But as it is in exponential format,... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssunda6
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Date string conversion within a file