Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Setting up bootblock on RAID 0 SVM Post 302445673 by hergp on Monday 16th of August 2010 02:30:16 PM
Old 08-16-2010
You cannot boot from a software implemented Raid 0, because the bootblock has to be read before the operating system and all md-drivers are loaded. metaroot's error message says it all:

Code:
Stripe d10 has more than 1 slice

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

How do you remove a RAID 5 under SVM?

I have this setup, i can only find docs to unmirror a raid 1 set, how do you get rid of a raid 5 set? the same way? metadetach and metaclear? d8: RAID State: Okay Interlace: 32 blocks Size: 142245693 blocks (67 GB) Original device: Size: 142247872 blocks (67 GB) ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
2 Replies

2. Solaris

RAID controller needed for SVM?

hi this may be a very stupid question, but im quite new to Solaris (gonna buid my first system, Solaris 10 on x86 system, connected to other windows systems in a home network) i wanna put a RAID 5 system in there to back up my other systems at home; iv read that its really so easy with SVM to... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Landser
4 Replies

3. Solaris

How can i grow Raid 5 volume in SVM..?

Hello experts.. How can i grow Raid 5 volume in SVM? Thanks in advance.. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: younus_syed
2 Replies

4. Solaris

What is mirror and sub mirror in RAID -1 SVM

Hi , I am new to SVM .when i try to learn RAID 1 , first they are creating two RAID 0 strips through metainit d51 1 1 c0t0d0s2 metainit d52 1 1 c1t0d0s2 In the next step metainit d50 -m d51 d50: Mirror is setup next step is metaattach d50 d52 d50 : submirror d52 is... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: vr_mari
7 Replies

5. Solaris

Installing Solaris 8 bootblock without Solaris Install CD