Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers list all files containing 4 digit number using grep Post 302444083 by hobiwhenuknowme on Wednesday 11th of August 2010 12:39:56 AM
Old 08-11-2010
Raj,
thanks for the effort buddy.
unfortunately there is no output on the screen despite the fact that some files do have
4 digit numbers.
doesn't work.

---------- Post updated at 11:39 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:36 PM ----------

guruprasad,
when i am in my home directory after i do cd ~, i have files in my home directory that contain numbers that are 4 digits long.
all i am trying to do i list the files that have 4 digit long numbers, what line they are on within the file and what are the numbers themselves, all this without outputting out the entire line.

---------- Post updated at 11:39 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:39 PM ----------

i am a beginner user, using putty.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting 10 digit number from txt files

Hi, Was wondering if you could give me an example of extracting a 10 digit number from 5 txt files using a regular expression (the number is always different ) and storing the numbers in variables Thanks C19 (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: c19h28O2
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding a 6 digit number retaining 0s on the left

i am new to shell scripting. i want to keep on increamenting a 6 digit number. For eg. 000000 + 1 = 000001 But instead of 000001 i get only 1. How do i do this ? Pls help. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: kanchan_cp
8 Replies

3. Programming

generating 16 digit random number in C

Hi, How can we generate 16 digit random nos in C. (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajaysahoo
10 Replies

4. Programming

Find out 2^n+1 , where n is a 3 digit number