Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Jumping from Solaris to BSD?
Operating Systems BSD Jumping from Solaris to BSD? Post 302443227 by agama on Saturday 7th of August 2010 04:11:24 PM
Old 08-07-2010
I've been using FreeBSD for about 10 years now -- starting with an install of 4.0 on my laptop. Prior to that I did most of my work on Sun O/S (pre Solaris and Solaris) systems and had no problem making the switch. At the office, FreeBSD is the preferred O/S for our clusters. We do have some boxes that run Linux or Solaris, but in the last 10 years we've had better success with our BSD systems.

FreeBSD is straight forward to install, and the ports collection makes it fairly easy to install the support software that you need.

The only heartburn we've had with FreeBSD is the lack of hardware support for some 'odd' devices, and we currently have a set of (older) motherboards that seem not to be compatible with anything after BSD 6.3. Unfortunately I cannot offer any details on these hardware issues as I'm not directly involved with this project and only know that the sysadmins ran into this glitch.

Using FreeBSD as a workstation has been great. Flash has always been a nagging problem under BSD; offset somewhat by being able to use the Linux flash player in a "compatibility" mode, but flash has always been a pain for me under BSD.

Would I recommend FreeBSD to a friend? Absolutely, especially for 'lights out' operations like it sounds you'll be using it for.
This User Gave Thanks to agama For This Post:

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

linux + bsd + solaris

I prepare to install linux distros , freebsd and solaris(totally 6 OS) in a 40G harddisk, but I fail to do it, so I would like to ask some question here. Can different distros share the same linux swap?or each distros need to have their own? I made 6 partitions(5 x 7G , 1 x 4G) and 256M(I... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: jcheng
8 Replies