Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Too late to learn unix?
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Too late to learn unix? Post 302443055 by bakunin on Friday 6th of August 2010 12:38:43 PM
Old 08-06-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim mcnamara
I'm 40+ years older than you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by edfair
My IT started 49 years ago
OMG! Thank you for making a 48-year-old geezer feel young again! ;-))

Seriously, i can only repeat what Jim and Ed already said: knowing IT is not "knowing where to click to do something", but understanding (down to the lowest level) what is going on when you click somewhere. The problem with Windows is that this distinction is constantly obfuscated and Windows "Admins" tend to confuse the two. "Knowing the dialogue where one enters an IP address and a subnet mask" is not "knowledge about networking", etc., etc..

For the learning part: i have only ~30 years of experience in the IT business and so i am - compared to Jim - still a beginner in the art. Still, i work with none of the tools, systems, networks, ..., which were there when i started the job. Go figure.

Life means learning, IT means learning permanently and even more and faster so than in any other job. You'll love it.

bakunin

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

What to learn in Unix

Hi I've landed an entry level job in a s/w company.I've not yet started working.But they told me it would be good if i know unix very well.I don't have any idea abt unix.and now i realise it is very vast.It would be nice if somebody can tell me what i should be learning in unix.I don't think i'll... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: liiza
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I want to learn more about Unix