Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting compare files and then remove some lines Post 302442402 by soliberus on Wednesday 4th of August 2010 06:25:57 AM
Old 08-04-2010
Thanks Guru, but the -f switch doesn't work on Solaris.

This is an example of the lines that are in my files:

Code:
FMDP0001_MSH11193_ATD-AAE-F6R-CB_100803_234702_book-1_page-1.png
FMDP0001_MSH11193_ATD-AAE-F6R-CB_100803_234702_book-1_page-1.xml
FMDP0001_MSH13299_ATD-AAE-F6R-CB_100803_230354_book-1_page-1.png
FMDP0001_MSH13299_ATD-AAE-F6R-CB_100803_230354_book-1_page-1.xml

---------- Post updated at 11:25 AM ---------- Previous update was at 11:07 AM ----------

Correction:

There are two version of grep on Solaris 10

/usr/bin/grep
/usr/xpg4/bin/grep

The -f switch works on the second one.

Thank you for the solution.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trying to compare lines in 2 files

Hello, I am new to scripting and need some help. In looking at other posts on this forum, I came up with the following logic. I cannot figure out why I am getting names of files of the current directory in my echo output. Scenario: message file has a line containing the version. Version.txt... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: brdholman
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compare and Remove duplicate lines from txt

Hello, I am a total linux newbie and I can't seem to find a solution to this little problem. I have two text files with a huge list of URLS. Let's call them file1.txt and file2.txt What I want to do is grab an URL from file2.txt, search file1.txt for the URL and if found, delete it from... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: rmarcano
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare two files and remove all the contents of one file from another