Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting reading alternate lines of a file Post 302442373 by Franklin52 on Wednesday 4th of August 2010 05:02:28 AM
Old 08-04-2010
What have you tried so far and what is the "real world problem" of your question?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

alternate lines from two files

A basic request two files want to combine them but on alternate lines (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: SummitElse
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

skip reading certain lines in a file

How can I exclude reading lines in a file that contains the following: filesystem:/home/pach/liv_patches 128005120 88456640 37270758 71% /home/patches That is, all lines that contain and begins with filesystem: should not be processed/read from a file (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: paulsew
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

alternate lines

Hi, I'm new to Unix. I want to read the all the lines from a text file and write the alternate lines into another file. Please give me a shell script solution. file1 ----- one two three four five six seven newfile(it should contain the alternate lines from the file1) ------- one... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pstanand
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert string in alternate lines

Hi All, In continuation of my previous thread 'Add text at the end of line conditionally', I need to further modfiy the file after adding text at the end of the line. Now, I need to add a fixed charater string at alternate lines starting from first line using awk or sed.My file is now as below:... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: angshuman
10 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

skip lines while reading a file