Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting using the $1 $2 etc for words in awk Post 302439253 by Scott on Thursday 22nd of July 2010 07:04:59 AM
Old 07-22-2010
Hi.

You could use a for-loop:

Code:
for( i = 3; i <= NF; i++ ) ...

Or, perhaps:
Code:
$ echo 1 2 3 4 5 6 | awk '{if( NF > 2) { $3 = RS $3}}1'
1 2
3 4 5 6

These 2 Users Gave Thanks to Scott For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

merging 2 lines with awk and stripping first two words

Hey all i am pretty new to awk... here my problem. My input is something like this: type: NSR client; name: pegasus; save set: /, /var, /part, /part/part2, /testpartition, /foo/bar,... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: bazzed
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract numbers below words with awk

Hi all, Please some help over here. I have a Sales.txt file containing info in blocks for every sold product in the pattern showed below (only for 2 products). NEW BLOCK SALE DATA PRODUCT SERIAL 79833269999 146701011945004 .Some other data .Some... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: cgkmal
17 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk after words

hi sorry, newbie for scripting.. the text file: abcdefghijk%%$%^U^%234454234 I got awk script: awk ' ($1 == "abcd") the output only show: abcd I tried using asterix: awk ' ($1 == "abcd*") but same output abcd only... how can I get all of the line ?? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: flekzout
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get a known word between two known words using awk

hi I have posted it earlier but i was unable to put my exact problem.This time posting in parts. I have a text file which i had transferred to UNIX.It has strings like: alter table table_name add (column_name); as well as modify options. now i need to read the table name between alter... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: alisha
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting