Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Area of a square
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Area of a square Post 302439214 by SnydeMz on Thursday 22nd of July 2010 05:22:40 AM
Old 07-22-2010
Area of a square

I am just starting out with bash scripting. I tried a simple script to find the area of a square and it didnt run.
Code:
#!/bin/bash
#script to find area of a square based on user input

if [ $# -ne 1 ]
then 
   echo " Usage -$0 x "
   echo " where x is the dimension of the square "
   exit 1
   n1=$1

echo " Area of the square is equal to `expr $n1 * $n1` "

I know its supposed to be simple but someone shed light on whats wrong.

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Use code tags please, ty.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

square brackets

I would like to substitute a phrase which contains square brackets. change TO how? Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gilead29
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Math Square Root

Hi I just stumbled on to these forums today, and I relatively new to unix. I am trying to figure out how to find the square root of a number using a shell script. I am using bash and I have searched and searched but cannot figure out square roots. Hopefully someone can point me in the right... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: davex4285
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

WHy the double square brackets?

One of the senior administrators gave me a shell script to modify and it begins as follows: if ] && ] {more code follows} Why the double square brackets? (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: mojoman
10 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

least-square fit in Gnuplot

Does anyone know how to find the best least square fit in Gnuplot? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cosmologist
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

removing square braces from a particular column