Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Doubts regarding sizeof() operator Post 302438930 by JohnGraham on Wednesday 21st of July 2010 08:25:05 AM
Old 07-21-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalibrahim
Any idea on this?
This will fail:

Code:
enum e { thing };
sizeof(e);

in C but not C++. In C you either have to use "sizeof(enum e)" or declare your enum as "typedef enum e { thing } e;" and you can use "sizeof(e)".

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

sizeof

we know that sizeof never returns zero when used with structure then why in this case it is returning zero struct foo { char c; }; void main() { struct foo f; cout<<sizeof(f); } i am working on solaris 5.8 isn't the above function should return the size of empty structure (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ramneek
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix doubts

Hello All, I am very new to UNIX. Please help me to find answers of below questions. 1.A script is saved with name ls. When we execute the script what it will execute? a) Will execute ls command b) Will execute the script c) Will execute script or command depends on the path ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aswathy
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Doubts on FIFO

Hi , I m beginner for Unix and i want to use FIFO in my 2 Scripts . I want 1 script to read data from FIFO and other will write into FIFO. Despite reading so many articles/posts i am still unable sunchronize my scripts. My doubts are 1> Do We require both scripts as daemons to use... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Akshay
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix doubts

Hi All, 1. how and who calls .profile when you login 2. what is PPID and what means by PPID = 0 Thanks in Advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravi.sadani19
2 Replies

5. Programming

sizeof an array of structure without using 'sizeof' operator