Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Custom AIX Prompt
Operating Systems AIX Custom AIX Prompt Post 302437622 by ptrotter on Thursday 15th of July 2010 03:00:49 PM
Old 07-15-2010
Thank you!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

AIX custom package install query

I have created a .bff package for an app to tbe installed on AIX servers across regions. I am pretty new to the AIX mode of packaging using mkinstallp but I have been able to get the same done. I installed the same on the server in which i created the package and the application was deployed... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: jobbyjoseph
9 Replies

2. AIX

Custom libraries possible on AIX 4.2 ?

I had started writting my own custom libraries on an AIX 4.2. Before finishing, I wanted to do a very simple test. So I wrote the followings: test.sh #!/bin/ksh . testlib.sh ZZ=testz "aa" "bb" echo "$ZZ" exit 0 testlib.sh testz () { return "$1$2" } When I ran my test.sh, I got an... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Browser_ice
2 Replies

3. AIX

Timestamp in AIX Prompt

I am using ksh under IBM's AIX, version 6.1. I wopuld like to add the current time to my prompt. I understand that I can change the value of $PS1 in my .profile. So far my attempts at setting the time have resulted in setting the time to what it was when the .profile was executed. ( It doesn't... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: PeterF
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Ksh93 vs. Pdksh88: Custom PS1 prompt not working

Greetings! I have to work with a NFS user id between two hosts: A running Ksh 93 and B running pdksh 88. My problem has to do with the custom prompt I created on A: it works like a charm and display colors: PS1="$'\E But I switch over to B, it all goes to hell (private info... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alan
4 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

scp not working because of prompt (AIX, tcsh)