Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Variable name change in a loop Post 302436876 by Scott on Tuesday 13th of July 2010 10:57:13 AM
Old 07-13-2010
Code:
for I in var1 var2 var3 ; do
  eval $I=\"Something calculated inside the loop\"
done

$ echo $var1
Something calculated inside the loop

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

change if-else loop to while-do

Hello friends, i wrote a script which includes a couple of if-else loops but i have to change it to while-do loop as it is not allowed to use "break" in if-else loop in bash. #!/bin/bash -x NUM=`find . -name ufsdump_output1.txt | xargs egrep "End-of-tape detected"` if ; then echo "OK!"... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: EAGL€
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Variable value dosent change after the loop changes it

i am new to shell scripting. this is similar to the code which i was writing for some other work. i want the variable 'x' to have the value which it will finally have at the end of the loop ( the number of directories ). but the value of 'x' only changes inside the loop and it remains '0' out-side... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: chathura666
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change Variable Value from Multiple Scripts and Use these Variable

Hi to All, Please find below details. file_config.config export file1_status="SUCCESS" export file2_status="SUCCESS" file_one.sh I am calling another two shell script from these script. I need to pass individual two script status (If it's "FAILED") to file_main.sh. file_main.sh I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: div_Neev
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

[SHELL: /bin/sh] For loop using variable variable names