Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Question about reading and parsing text file Post 302434677 by bartus11 on Sunday 4th of July 2010 02:59:05 PM
Old 07-04-2010
Try:
Code:
awk '{system("mv "$1" "$2)}' filename_toc

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Text parsing question

How would I split a file based on the location of a string, basically I want all entries above the string unix in this example 1 2 3 4 unix 5 6 7 Thanks, Chuck (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: 98_1LE
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Text File Parsing

Hey Guys.I am a newbie on Bash Shell Scripting and Perl.And I have a question about file parsing. I have a log file which contains reports about a communication device.I need to take some of the reports from the log file.Its hard to explain the issue.but shortly I can say that, the reports has a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Djlethal
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in parsing text file contents

Hi, I need some help in extracting the Exception block between the lines 21 Feb 01:18:54:146 ERROR com.orbits.frameworks.integrationframework.ValidationException - Caught exception in validateRequest() (PID=565584) and 21 Feb 01:18:55:149 INFO ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Alecs
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing text from file

Any ideas? 1)loop through text file 2)extract everything between SOL and EOL 3)output files, for example: 123.txt and 124.txt for the file below So far I have: sed -n "/SOL/,/EOL/{p;/EOL/q;}" file Here is an example of my text file. SOL-123.go something goes here something goes... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ndnkyd
0 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help parsing and replacing text with file name