Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk for-loop and NR
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk for-loop and NR Post 302432619 by bartus11 on Friday 25th of June 2010 01:41:18 PM
Old 06-25-2010
First, in 99% of cases you don't wanna change NR during AWK execution. Second:
Code:
awk 'NR<=2{print >> "grid_ill_1.pts";next}{print >> "grid_ill_2.pts"}' grid_ill.pts

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using AWK in a for loop

Hello, I am trying to use AWK to print only the first field of numerous text files, and then overwrite these files. They are of the format 1*2,3,4,5. I have tried the following code (using tcsh): foreach f (file1 file2 file3) cat $f | awk -F'*' '{print $1}' > $f end However, I get very... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jahn
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

for loop in awk?

I am new to unix and have pieced together two scripts that work independently. The first checks all the filesystems and reports which are running low on space. df -m | awk 'int($4) > 75 { print $1 " has only " $3 "mb free from a total of " $2 ", this filesystem is " $4 " full! \n" }... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Bdawk
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparison and editing of files using awk.(And also a possible bug in awk for loop?)

I have two files which I would like to compare and then manipulate in a way. File1: pictures.txt 1.1 1.3 dance.txt 1.2 1.4 treehouse.txt 1.3 1.5 File2: pictures.txt 1.5 ref2313 1.4 ref2345 1.3 ref5432 1.2 ref4244 dance.txt 1.6 ref2342 1.5 ref2352 1.4 ref0695 1.3 ref5738 1.2... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: linuxkid
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk - loop from a to z