Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: where to download unix os
Operating Systems Linux Fedora where to download unix os Post 302429930 by pludi on Wednesday 16th of June 2010 07:01:47 AM
Old 06-16-2010
No. The only thing DOS, Windows (NT, newer than 98), and Unices (plural of UNIX) have in common is that they're an OS. The "terminal" can be the same program across different Unices. It's just a program that communicates between a user and another program, nothing more, nothing less. And a single program can't be UNIX, as that term includes not only programs, but also APIs, filesystem layouts, ...

Again, read up on the history of UNIX in that Wikipedia article you've linked.

Yes, the *BSDs are Unices. So is Solaris, HP-UX, AIX, Tru64, and Linux, as they all support a certain set of common APIs, programs, ...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Where can I Download UNIX?

I'm very new to Unix-- I want to locate and download it to my computer and start learning it. Could anybody plz help me start. Thanks a lot. Rachid (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Rachid
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How Can I download an UNIX

Hi, I was reading on the net and something caught my eyes it was something about learning how to become a hacker. This site said that the best thing you can do to start is to use a Unix. My first question is: What is an Unix? Then I would like to ask you how can I download one on my... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: chaoticlysmart
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Where Do I Go To Download Unix?

Seriously. I Know Very Little About Unix, But Im Tired Of Windows. Id Like To Learn More About Other Os', But I Don't Know Where I Can Get A Download For Unix. I Know Some Body Can Hel[ Me. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: classicblue
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

where can i download unix