Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming pthread_exit and pthread_join usage Post 302428585 by prompt on Thursday 10th of June 2010 09:58:01 AM
Old 06-10-2010
I'm programming for a school's project!

I read this iSeries Information Center

The code complete is
Code:
#include <pthread.h>
#include <stdio.h>
void *th(void *g){
        int y = 10;
        pthread_exit((void*)y);
}
int main(int argn, char ** argp){
        void * ret;
        pthread_t thread;
        pthread_create(&thread, NULL, th, NULL);
        pthread_join(thread, &ret);
        int nm = (int*)ret;
        printf("%d\n", nm);
        return 0;
}

I know that my code is very strange, but my code is only a copy of the example! I know (I'm not a programmer, I'm only a student) how to use the pointer but only in this way I can retrieve a value!

(I renew my apologies for my english)
prompt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to write my own version of pthread_join()

I would like to write my own version of pthread_join and some of the other pthread function. Does some know any pages that have som examples of doing this?? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bigblop
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

FATAL:exception occured with pthread_exit()

We had written an application in which we create worker thread. So the main thread will create the worker thread. After some time the child thread(Worker thread) will call pthread_exit(). This function was written in try{} and there occured an Exception and is handled in catch(...)... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: platso
0 Replies

3. Linux

pthread_join hang on glibc2.5

Hello All, The problem i'm experiencing is with the following code: #include <pthread.h> #include <stdio.h> int main(void) { (void) pthread_join(155555, NULL); printf("done"); return 0; } I'm getting on terminal segmentation fault . System used:... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: crocodil
0 Replies

4. HP-UX