Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Account lockout policy
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Account lockout policy Post 302427910 by ygemici on Tuesday 8th of June 2010 08:36:54 AM
Old 06-08-2010
Account policy does not define user authenticate..

Try this
Code:
auth        required      pam_tally.so deny=3 unclok_time=600 even_deny_root_account

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Lockout Users

I am using AIx 4.3.3 and was wondering what the command was to keep users from logging in. I want to be able to do maintenance and keep the users out. Can anyone help? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: cgillett
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

root lockout

Hi, I am extremely new to UNIX and was recently promoted to administer the system for a small company. Anyhow, the time came for passwords to change, and I made the huge mistake of entering in the command (as root) passwd -l After logging out (oblivious to what would happen next), the root... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: newbieadmin
4 Replies

3. AIX

user lockout...

Hi, We are using 4.3.3.0 and I would like to make a global change to the "number of failed logins before user account is locked" Any ideas, other than using SMIT one user at a time.... ??? Thanks... Craig. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: stumpy
2 Replies

4. AIX

lockout su for 1 user

I want to know if there is any easy way of stopping 1 user from using su? perferabily any su but I can make do with not allow him to su to root but allow other user to su to root. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: daveisme
3 Replies

5. UNIX and Linux Applications

Account lockout using Openldap

What is the best way to implement account lockout in openldap? I have an openldap server with Ubuntu desktop client connecting to it for authentication. I want he accounts to locked out after say 5 failed authentication attempts I have enabled ppolicy layout in slapd.conf. overlay ppolicy... (0 Replies)