Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Reading a particular line from a .txt file Post 302425999 by gaurav1086 on Monday 31st of May 2010 09:00:31 AM
Old 05-31-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugga
Thanks Guys!
Problem solved Smilie
How did you solve it. Please share it with us. We would like to know.

Regards,
Gaurav.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading Characters from txt file

Hello, I am new to shell scripting, and I am trying to create a script that reads an input like the following firstname:lastname:age firstname:lastname:age firstname:lastname:age in a text file. I have a 2 part question. First how do I open the file in a shell script. And then how can... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: TexasGuy
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading the txt file

hi to all im having some 20,000 files in that im having some contents say the tabulation of biophysics lab readings ... and i want read tat file and look into tat wether a number say -18.90 is there r not .. and if there print tat no wit file name beside thank you:D (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: maximas
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Solved] Problem in reading a file line by line till it reaches a white line

So, I want to read line-by-line a text file with unknown number of files.... So: a=1 b=1 while ; do b=`sed -n '$ap' test` a=`expr $a + 1` $here do something with b etc done the problem is that sed does not seem to recognise the $a, even when trying sed -n ' $a p' So, I cannot read... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hakermania
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

C-Shell script help reading from txt file