Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Retries in shell programming. Post 302425423 by devtakh on Friday 28th of May 2010 12:16:12 AM
Old 05-28-2010
your script looks good to me. you can as well use a while loop and minimize the code as below

Code:
while [ $Retries -lt 4 ]
do
              $Scr_Dir/pingServer | grep UP
              if [ $? -eq 0 ]
              then
                      echo "/n Server has been started successfully..../n" >> $Log_File
                      exit 0
              else
                             Retries=$( expr $Retries + 1 )
                             sleep 240
               fi
done

echo "Timed out in starting the Server.." >> $Log_File

cheers,
Devaraj Takhellambam
This User Gave Thanks to devtakh For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Programming Help

Hi, I am new to shell programming, and hve been given a request to write a shell script. Is there any good places to go to see examples of how to write shell programming scripts? Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mec585858
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Programming?

For what purposes should we use shell /what are the tasks we can achieve using shell which is best book to learn shell programming and will nayone tell me diff between shell programming aand shell scripting? Thank u in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shrikrishna
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Programming

Provides a menu structure that allows a user to select several options - input a name and address, lookup a name and address, delete a name and address, and print a formatted report from a text database (note: this requirement assumes that you will use the program to create a database, though in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: DonOmar
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Sendmail retries sending to non-existant users