Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Compare text strings.
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare text strings. Post 302422699 by vettec3 on Wednesday 19th of May 2010 07:10:56 AM
Old 05-19-2010
Thanks JGT.
I supoose that your way might be more correct. But that part of the code is actually working.
Beacuse if I put in numbers higher or lower than 300000 i get the results that I want.

My focus is on solving the comparision of the character string that is failing
and as a secondary effect gives the
> 300000 : syntax error

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

to compare two strings

hi all, i am new to unix. Actually i need to compare two string and print the result... suppose type='sun' if; then echo good morning else echo good night fi whether the comparison is right r we need to use eq???? help me please.... :confused: thanks in advance.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ithirak17
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to compare two strings

Hi all, I am trying to compare two strings/dates, but its throwing error::Syntax error at line 5: Please help !! Any alternate way to compare two dates is also fine.... logdate1=`date -u '+%Y.%m.%d %T'` sleep 5 logdate2=`date -u '+%Y.%m.%d %T'` if test... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: prashant43
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare strings, words in different order

Hi, Would anyone know how to compare two strings, and only throw an error if there were different words, not that the same words were in a different order? e.g "A B C" vs "B C A" ->OK "A B C" vs "A D C" -> BAD Thanks! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rebelbuttmunch
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to compare two strings using if