Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Gathering data from complex/large dataspreads .txt format Post 302422513 by EAGL€ on Tuesday 18th of May 2010 03:34:07 PM
Old 05-18-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by p43hd
The .txt file is too large and I havn't been able to open the file without freezing. Weirdly, it shows the full text in the preview window in explorer.

I also don't know how to use code tags properly for this situation.

from Message tab below this page click "#" to use code tags after selecting a code part or a sentence.

you can split your file into many parts. Lets say your file is 800MB, you simply split it to 40 MBytes of parts:

Code:
split -b 40m FILE

then attach a part here Smilie

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Data gathering script

I am pretty new at shell scripting, but I managed to make a primative shell script to connect from my webserver (bluehost) to an external data server via ftp or sftp or whatever I need. This script is : #!/bin/sh HOST='ftp.host.com' USER='username' PASSWD='password' FILE='file' ftp -n... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: mesoeast
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK CSV to TXT format, TXT file not in a correct column format

HI guys, I have created a script to read 1 column in a csv file and then place it in text file. However, when i checked out the text file, it is not in a column format... Example: CSV file contains name,age aa,11 bb,22 cc,33 After using awk to get first column TXT file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mdap
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Gathering data using SAR

Hi everyone, I would like to ask if it is possible to gather SAR data on a specified time. let say yesterdays report, i want to get data at around 12PM and 5PM. thank you. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cwiggler
2 Replies

4. Red Hat

What is the best tools for performance data gathering and analysis?