Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to read files with spaces Post 302422474 by Franklin52 on Tuesday 18th of May 2010 01:57:05 PM
Old 05-18-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lillyt
Hi

I am a newbie to unix. I have a current script that reads a directory for excel files and renames the files. There is a problem now because some of the files have spaces. If I put quotes on the file, it will work but I dont know how to read all the files with quotes.

Variables
$1 = /data/
$2 = xls
$3 = AAA
$4 = /data/

filenames are :

report 1 and 1a.xls (this doesnt work)
report2_1.xls (this works, renames AAAreport2_1.xls)
Code:
for fname in $1/*.$2 ; do
    newname=`eval basename $fname`
    newfile=$3$newname
    echo "newfile is " $newfile
    if test -f $fname ;  then
        mv $fname $4/$newfile
    fi
done

If anyone can help, that would be great.

Thanks.
Lilly
Use quotes and a while loop like:
Code:
while read fname ; do
    newname=${fname##*/}  # no need to use external command
    newfile="$3""$newname"
    echo "newfile is " "$newfile"
    if [ -f "$fname" ];  then
        mv "$fname" "$4""$newfile"
    fi
done < $1/*.$2

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Keep spaces with read command

Hi The following command read a string from the keyboard & echo it back. $ read S;echo "$S" ABCD ABCD As you see, the input has space. while it echo back the spaces are removed. Is there a way to keep the input intact and not removing any spaces? Also, the number of spaces may vary. ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: azmathshaikh
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read files including spaces