Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting No Syntax Error and No Output Post 302422147 by ibzee33 on Monday 17th of May 2010 03:08:58 PM
Old 05-17-2010
@scottn: i have a couple of questions,

what is this command, awk '{print $1}' is it compatible with Fedora?

what is the output for this?!
Code:
lines=$(wc -l < ./temp)

i used this command to save the number of lines, so i can use them in a loop while reading the file, a programming approach i guess, since im new to scripting and im not sure how to read the lines in a file
Code:
lines=$(wc -l ./temp | cut -d" " -f1)

@Franklin52
the ./temp file is only a temporary file holding the information from the who command, after that i read each line separately, and use it to save the full name, time and IP which i save in tmplog, that i sort and the final output is in logfile

the output should be something like this
Jack_Oneal 12:23 172.168.12.1

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk Shell Script error : "Syntax Error : `Split' unexpected

hi there i write one awk script file in shell programing the code is related to dd/mm/yy to month, day year format but i get an error please can anybody help me out in this problem ?????? i give my code here including error awk ` # date-month -- convert mm/dd/yy to month day,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Herry
2 Replies

2. AIX

nim mksysb error :/usr/bin/savevg[33]: 1016,07: syntax error

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Hello, help me please. I am trying to create a mksysb bakup using nim. I am geting this error, how to correct it ? : Command : failed stdout: yes stderr: no... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: astjen
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Receiving error: ./ang.ksh[35]: 0403-057 Syntax error at line 116 : `done' is not expected.