Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Problem iterating through PATH entries with spaces Post 302421575 by jim mcnamara on Friday 14th of May 2010 07:49:38 PM
Old 05-14-2010
Make an array
Code:
declare -a arr
arr=$(echo $PATH | tr -s ':' ' )

Code:
echo $PATH | awk -F: '{ for (i=1; i<=NF; i++) {print $i}}' |
while read fname
do 
# something
done

Code:
oldIFS="$IFS"
IFS=':'
for i in $PATH
do

echo $i
done 
IFS="$oldIFS"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cc path problem - no acceptable path found

Hello everyone, I'm a unix noob. I have a powerbook running mac os x 10.4 and for one of my classes I need to install the latest version of php (5.0.5). I'm following the instructions at http://developer.apple.com/internet/opensource/php.html to install but I've run into a problem. The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kendokendokendo
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problem with spaces in directory path

Hi Gurus, I have a requirement. cat /usdd/Sample/"NDDF Plus DB"/"NDDF Descriptive and Pricing"/"NDDF BASICS 3.0"/"Pricing"/1.txt | sed 's/*|*/|/g' | sed 's/^*//'| sed 's/^*//; s/*$//' > temp.txt In unix prompt the above command is reading the file 1.txt and I am... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: prabhutkl
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem iterating in while loop

I am facing a problem in replacing the file contents by iterating through the list. My present code: Code: #!/bin/bash# TFILE="/tmp/vinay/testb_1.txt" while read linedo aline="$line" echo $aline code=`echo $aline|cut -d ',' -f1` country=`echo $aline|cut -d... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: av_vinay
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

iterating over results from sqlplus