Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to Control Number of Processes Running Post 302421205 by Scott on Thursday 13th of May 2010 07:44:47 PM
Old 05-13-2010
Hi.

You could use wait.

Quote:
(csh man page) The wait builtin command causes the shell to wait for all background jobs to complete.
i.e.
Code:
% date; sleep 20 &; sleep 5 &; wait; date
[1] 29009
[2] 29010
Fri 14 May 2010 01:41:51 CEST
Fri 14 May 2010 01:42:11 CEST
[2]  + Done                          sleep 5
[1]  + Done                          ( date; sleep 20 )

(in a good shell (i.e. not csh), you have better options for job control!)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Determine Number of Processes Running

I am pretty new to unix, and I have a project to do. Part of the project asks me to determine the number of processes running and assign it to a variable. I know how to every part of the project but determine the number of processes running. How can I get just the number of processes... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: wayne1411
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Keep a certain number of background processes running

I've got a bit of code I'm trying to work on... What i want to happen is ... at all times have four parallel mysql dump and imports running. I found the follow code snippet on the forum and modified it to work by starting four concurrent processes but it waits until all four are done before... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dgob123
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with running processes script

I'm doing a script with the Shell. I need that it only show the number of running processes. Ex: echo "There are `command` running processes" Thnx! Pd: Sorry the idiom. I'm spanish. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ikebana
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help in running two processes in parellel