Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Extracting numbers from a String Post 302421161 by Renegade on Thursday 13th of May 2010 03:08:07 PM
Old 05-13-2010
Hi I'm new to unix scripting myself. I learned how to do this the other day, here goes:

Assuming you have assigned the string to a variable:

Code:
x="170 unique conformations found"

You can get the numerical part and assign it to the variable y with:

Code:
y=${x%%unique conformations found}

Test:

Code:
echo $y

I hope this helps

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting numbers from strings

Hello all, I am being dumb with this and I know there is a simple solution. I have a file with the follwing lines bc stuff (more)...............123 bc stuffagain (moretoo)............0 bc stuffyetagain (morehere)......34 failed L3 thing..............1 failed this... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gobi
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Error extracting 1 or more numbers with expr command

Need help with the following, I want to extract the digits from the following file pattern using the expr command. digits are in the range 1-99 Tried two different methods, not sure what I am doing wrong. file1=file1.dbf file10=file10.dbf Works for expr "$file10" : '.*\(\)' 10 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fire!
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Extracting numbers and multipling

Hi All, I have searched the forum but couldn't find exactly what I need. Hopefully someone may be able to help. I'm trying to put a script together that will extract numbers from a text file and multiply them by, for example 1.5 or 1.2 Sample file looks like this...... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: speedfreak
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting numbers from a string