Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Creation of multiple directories Post 302420248 by rajeshnatarajan on Tuesday 11th of May 2010 05:34:20 AM
Old 05-11-2010
Hi , Thanks for the quick reply .

But getting a error when i try to test it out ..

Code:
$ pwd
/tmp/rajesh
$ cd fol1
$ ls -ltr
total 0
drwxr-xr-x    2 wmuser   wmftp           256 May 11 17:28 sub
$ cd ../fol2
$ ls -ltr
total 0
drwxr-xr-x    2 wmuser   wmftp           256 May 11 17:28 sub
$ cd ../fol3
$ ls -ltr
total 0
drwxr-xr-x    2 wmuser   wmftp           256 May 11 17:29 sub
$ find /tmp/rajesh -type d -name "sub" -exec mkdir {}/subapp \;
mkdir: 0653-357 Cannot access directory {}.
{}: A file or directory in the path name does not exist.
$

Last edited by pludi; 05-11-2010 at 06:43 AM.. Reason: code tags, please...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

check if multiple directories exist else create missing directories

Hi , I 'm trying to check if multiple directories exist on a server, if not create the missing ones and print " creating missing directory. how to write this in a simple script, I have made my code complex if ; then taskStatus="Schema extract directory exists, checking if SQL,Count and... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ramky79
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

FTP multiple files from multiple directories

I have multiple files that starts as TRADE_LOG spread across multiple folders in the given structure.. ./dir1/1/TRADE_LOG*.gz ./dir2/10/TRADE_LOG*.gz ./dir11/12/TRADE_LOG*.gz ./dir12/13/TRADE_LOG*.gz when I do ftp uisng mput from the "." dir I am getting the below given error mput... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: prasperl
1 Replies