Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Grab Portion of Output Text (sed, grep, awk?) Post 302416778 by Scrutinizer on Tuesday 27th of April 2010 04:58:36 PM
Old 04-27-2010
High kamaraj,

It means save the two patterns of [0-9]* (with a / in between and spaces before and after) so that they can be referenced as \1 and \2 respectively. The patterns are in between \( and \) . Discard the rest. Note that a "|" is used as a separator for subsitition instead of "/ ".

S.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

printing portion of the output usind sed/awk

friends, i am a newbie in scripting. could someone help me in selecting only the last column of below ps command output ? mqm 14 16466 0 Sep 15 ? 0:01 /opt/mqm/bin/runmqlsr -r -m QMGR.INBOUNDSSL -t TCP -p 1415 -i 5.1.26.5 mqm 12 16700 0 Sep 15 ? 0:00... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: unahb1
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

bash/grep/awk/sed: How to extract every appearance of text between two specific strings

I have a text wich looks like this: clid=2 cid=6 client_database_id=35 client_nickname=Peter client_type=0|clid=3 cid=22 client_database_id=57 client_nickname=Paul client_type=0|clid=5 cid=22 client_database_id=7 client_nickname=Mary client_type=0|clid=6 cid=22 client_database_id=6... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pioneer1976
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep reverses # output, but not text?

I have a working script to find out the IP of a hostname like this: #!/bin/bash h="www.google.com" echo $h j=`host $h | grep -o '\{1,3\}\.\{1,3\}\.\{1,3\}\.\{1,3\}'` echo "ip: $j" output ip: 74.125.19.99 the strange thing is if I use an IP instead of a hostname for $h, it inverts the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: unclecameron
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Display output as columns using grep/awk/sed